Yamaha YZF R125 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Got an R125 just over a month ago so though i'd get a blog started.
Haven't had a chance to do much as i'm in my final year for my degree and exams are coming up ever soo quickly but come summer i should be spending several hours falling in love :)

Anyway here's how i got it:

Should probably have left the seat on for a better "Before" picture, but neway (yes) this is Fisher's old bike.
Picked it up at a decent price considering the damage...cheers Fisher :)

First thing i did was to remove all the carbon fibre wrap and reveal a beatiful red underneath.

Alot of the clips for the panels were broken on the left side as the boomerang snapped off while Fisher rode it to mine so i went about drilling new holes and cable ties the panels together.
Left the bike at home for 2 weeks while i was at uni, so i used that time to order various things:
Cyclone V2 Alarm
Yamaha Crash Protector
Xena Disk Lock
Cover

I also started buying some gear as this is my first bike:
HJC IS-16 Helmet in Matt Black :)
Red Leather gloves off ebay
Kevlar Jeans with knee and hip pads

Back to the bike, heres a few pictures of what it looked like before i started riding:

But unfortunately on my first ride to uni (london - portsmouth) I went into the back of a car and the bike fell on its right, which caused some more damage to the bike.

The bolt for the crash protector bent which pushed the mushroom into the boomerang and cracked it. :(

No other damage to the right side apart form having to realign the panels.

After some confusion as to what happened here, as its on the left side of the bike, I realised it was paint transfer from my leathers. Lucky i was wearing them

The nose cone snapped just underneeth the left headlight, and the left indicator panel now has a piece missing. Nose cone has also cracked in a few places.