Yamaha YZF R125 Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, my Yamaha has been stolen and found after 8 months. As you can see on the picture they've made an ignition switch out of a light switch. I might sound like an amateur and I'm not a mechanic but what exactly do I need to buy to sort this out? Do I need to change the cables( they are ripped) and then buy new Ignition switch or what? I'm sorry for my English. Thank you.
Wheel Tire Bicycle handlebar Bicycle tire Bicycle fork

Gesture Gadget Font Technology Electronic device

·
Registered
2008 YZF-R125 (180cc)
604 Posts
if you take the fuel tank off (or just undo the bolts and twist it to the side so you can see under it) you should see that the cables from the "ignition" go to a (red) plug just behind where the frame spars/beams meet. You should be able to find a replacement ignition barrel which comes with that section of loom and should replace the damaged part.

e.g. (for up to 2016, you'll have to have a look yourself if it's a later year)

Camera accessory Audio equipment Cameras & optics Gas Gadget

If the old ignition barrel (where you put the key in) is still there, putting a new ignition barrel on will mean taking the top fork yoke off completely and drilling out the security bolts which hold the ignition barrel in (from the underside). (you'll need to centre-punch them before drilling).

The ignition barrel is usually held on with special bolts where the head (with the hex part which lets you tighten it) breaks off once they reach the required torque, and they just leave smooth stubs which hold the ignition barrel in place, but can't be undone. They must be drilled out. see below. The hex part to the left of the pic breaks off once it's tight enough.

You can fit normal M6 bolts afterwards (stainless is good so they dont rust) if you prefer or you can get the security bolts, though clearly in this case they didn't really prevent it getting stolen.